| Greetings | Polo Quiz | Rules | Results | Downloads | Classifieds | IPA | * World Cup 2011 * | Gallery | Market Place |

| Sitemap | Calendar | Newsletter | Clubs | Players | Links | HoofTalk | Guestbook | BLOG | Contact | Home |



FIP Polo World Cup 2011
San Luis Argentina
Oct 10-21, 2011 (Click here)


9th FIP Polo World Cup Zone D Playoffs
Malaysia 2011
May 13 - 25, 2011



1: SA vs Nigeria
2: IND vs AUS
3: Malaysia vs NZ
4: PAK vs Nigeria
5: Malaysia vs IND
6: AUS vs NZ
7: SA vs PAK
* 5th, 6th, 7th places
8: Malaysia vs Nigeria
9: Malaysia vs New Zealand
10: New Zealand vs Nigeria
11: SA vs IND
12: PAK vs AUS
3rd/4th place
13: SA vs AUS



Articles that appeared in Polo Times Magazine:
> Oct 2008 Issue
> Nov/Dec 2008 Issue
> Jan/Feb 2009 Issue
> Mar 2009 Issue
> Apr 2009 Issue

> May 2010 Issue

9th FIP Polo World Cup 2011
ZONE D Playoffs
Malaysia, June 13 - 25, 2011


June 13, 2011
South Africa easily defeat Nigeria 13 - 5 in the opening game of the FIP Polo World Cup - Zone D playoffs being played in Malaysia.


Click here for more images from the FIP Polo World Cup Zone D playoffs

The FIP Polo World Cup Asian-Australiasian-African championships got off to a tremendous start at the Royal Pahang Polo Club in Pekan, Pahang. HRH Sultan of Pahang opened the championships by receving the impressive new championship trophy, The Malaysia Cup, from the Vice-Presidents of the RMPA, HH Tengku Sri Panglima Raja, Tengku Baderulzaman and Dato' Mohamed Moiz. He then rang a ceremonal bell to indicate the start of the championships.

After introductions to the teams, South Africa and Nigeria got the champinships underway. The teams were led onto the field by Audi's R8 and A8 cars. After a royal salute by the players, HRH Sultan Pahang was handed the match ball by FIP President Eduardo Huergo. He performed a ceremonial throwing-in of the ball to start the match.

2007 championship winners South Africa were too strong for Nigeria, who were making a return to international polo ater a 20 year gap. The Nigerians started well and held the South Africans at bay for the first half of the first chukka. They were tied at 2-2 before South Africa's Lance Watson and cousin Duncan Watson started to dominate. And dominate they did. They took South Africa to a 4-2 lead by the end of the first chukka, a lead they would only increase as the game went on.

It was still a game at 5 - 3 at the end of the second, but South Africa blew Nigeria away with four unanswered goals in the third chukka. They added two more in the fourth chukka to put the game well beyond any hope of the come-back.

Hamisu Buba replaced Bello Bubba midway through the 4th chukka as Nigeria's 5-goal Rambo was injured, though not seriously. Hamisu got two goals in the final chukka to make the final score of 13 - 5 seem a little more respectable.

All the South Africans got on the scoreboard. Lance Watson was the star of the South African show, scoring 7 goals in the match. Duncan Watson commanded the midfield well, prompting South Africa's attacks with penetrating distribution of the ball. Campbell MacNab was a stalwart in defence and even managed a couple of goals. Johann Du Preez got late call-up for South Africa when Sbu Duma had to pull out with a knee ligament injury, and made a good debut for his country, working hard in attack and getting a nice goal in the third chukka.

Nigeria's goals came from Bello Buba (2), Hamisu Buba (2) and Ibrahim Mohammed (1).

The umpires for the match were Argentine Open umpires Gonzalo Bunge and Nicholas Scortichinni. The referee was JJ Diaz Alberdi.


South Africa

1.Johann Du Preez +2
2.Lance Watson +4
3.Duncan Watson +4
4.Campbell MacNab +3
Team Total 14 goals


1.Malik Badamasi +1
2.Bello Buba +5
3.Mohammad Babangida +4
4.Ibrahim Mohammed +4
Subsitute: Hamisu Buba +4

Team Total 14 goals